Monday, 19 August 2013

A Winters Flame by Milly Johnson

Tis the season to be jolly...But can Eve find happiness through the frost...?
Eve has never liked Christmas, not since her beloved fiancé was killed in action in Afghanistan on Christmas Day. So when her adored elderly aunt dies, the last thing she is expecting is to be left a theme park in her will.
A theme park with a Christmas theme...And that's not the only catch. Her aunt's will stipulates that Eve must run the park with a mysterious partner, the exotically named Jacques Glace.
Who is this Jacques, and why did Aunt Evelyn name him in her will?
But Eve isn't going to back down from a challenge. She's determined to make a success of Winterworld, no matter what. Can she overcome her dislike of Christmas, and can Jacques melt her frozen heart at last...?



Are you ready for a magical read that will reignite not just a love of christmas but the realisation that everything feels extra special when you have someone to share it with.

Meet Eve, she's the determined feisty lead character who sadly lost her fiance 5 years ago, when he went off to fight in Afghanistan. Jonathon died on Christmas Day re installing in Eve that nothing good happens on Christmas, surely her childhood was proof of that.

So imagine when to Eve's dismay she is left half a theme park in her aunts will, and not just any theme park a CHRISTMAS themed one. Did aunt Evelyn know her at all?

The owner of the other half of WINTERWORLD, Jacques Glace, to Eve he is a mystery, how did he know aunt Evelyn and why would she have put them in the most unlikeliest of partnerships.
Eve hates Christmas and Jacques embodies everything she hates about it!

For readers of Milly Johnson you will recognise a few characters who pop up from. White Wedding, like Eves cousin Violet, who plays a big part in the book.

My favourite character has to be Jacques, there were so many things about this man that I loved. He champions christmas, is witty, kind, makes friends easily and from the description he is easy on the eyes as well.
I thought it was a great touch that on the day he met Eve he told her he would marry her one day and although this annoyed Eve it won me over instantly (this could be because my dad said the same thing to my mum, the day they met)

Eve is a workaholic and as the story develops you start to understand why, for me though at time I wanted to shake her. She doesn't trust easily and has disconnected herself from most people around her.

The story is at times poignant when focusing on the military and for me that makes this book even more special. It covers a difficult issue and still leaves you smiling.

I've reviewed 'A Winter Flame' for inspiration week because;
It's a read that symbolises hope, it shows even when you think all is lost, something can be found.

5/5

No comments:

Post a Comment