Wednesday, 4 December 2013

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow

A stunning novel set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail – The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris.

When Caroline Meadows discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother’s attic, she sets out on a journey to discover who made it, and the meaning of the mysterious message embroidered into its lining.

Many years earlier, before the first world war has cast its shadow, Maria, a talented seamstress from the East End of London, is employed to work for the royal family. A young and attractive girl, she soon catches the eye of the Prince of Wales and she in turn is captivated by his glamour and intensity.
But careless talk causes trouble and soon Maria’s life takes a far darker turn.

Can Caroline piece together a secret history and reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?



20131201-132319.jpg

The story starts in 1970 with a letter from the medical superintendent of Helena Hall hospital.
And then moves to 2008 where Caroline is helping to sort out the cottage she lived in with her family, where she comes across a locked suitcase which contains a beautiful handmade patchwork quilt.
Caroline's intrigued by the quilt and the memories it holds, so intent on the truth she sets about discovering the story behind it.

Soon Maria's remarkable story starts to unfold.

There's something captivating about the story within the quilt, the memories woven by hand and detailing of the stitch.
For an object to share its creators life and tell the story of what happened, makes for a truly beautiful read.

With every page you are found waiting to discover more about Maria, for her to finally be heard!

The magical thing about the quilt is that through telling the story of one life it also changes the course of another.
For Caroline is so focused on discovering the truth behind the quilt, she casts aside work and realises what would truly make her happy.
I suppose you could say, she starts a new patch in the quilt of her life.

A beautiful read, that will capture your heart and imagination.

5/5

I would like to thank Olivia from LightBrigade PR for sending me a copy to review

No comments:

Post a Comment