Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Undertaking Love by Kat French

Today I am part of the blog tour for Undertaking Love.

I am delighted to share with you unique content and my review.

Thank you to Olivia at LightBrigade PR for inviting me to be part of the tour and sending me a copy to review!


Jonny's bio:

If Marla is the brains of the chapel, Jonny is it's flamboyant beating heart. With a penchant for Abba, satin trousers and stack-heeled cowboy boots, Marla knew he was the perfect man to join her at the helm of the wedding chapel the moment he sashayed down the aisle.
He relocated lock, stock and barrel to Beckleberry to take up the role Marla offered him at the chapel, leaving his wild Brighton days behind him to lay down more meaningful roots in Shropshire.
Loud, proud and wickedly witty, Jonny is the very best of friends and the very worst of enemies. If he loves you, he bathes you in his affection and good humour, but cross him at your peril...


Jonny's quick-fire answers:

Favourite colour - Purple. Or gold. Both together most of all.
Favourite song - You're expecting Abba, am I right? Then I'll go Kylie just to shock you. ;)
Favourite book - Lord of the Flies.
Favourite word - Party!
Favourite food - Hot Dog. Preferably a foot long and fully loaded.
Favourite season - Summertime. Gimme sunshine, baby-oil and bare brown chests...
Favourite TV show - Nashville
Favourite Author - Charlaine Harris
Favourite animal - Lions. No, tigers. No, peacocks.



20140524-145234-53554551.jpg

Blurb:

Sexy and smart, with an extremely desirable male lead, this is a delightful debut from an exciting new voice in women’s fiction.

When Marla Jacobs discovers that the shop next to her Little White Wedding Chapel is to become a funeral parlour, she declares all-out war.

Marla’s chapel in the sleepy Shropshire countryside has become a nation-wide sensation, but the arrival of Funeral Director Gabriel Ryan threatens everything Marla has worked for. She can picture the scene: wedding limos fighting for space in the street with hearses; brides bumping into widows; bouquets being swapped for wreaths.

Marla’s not going down without a fight. She enlists a motley crew of weird and wonderful local supporters, and battle lines are drawn. But, as soon as Marla meets her nemesis, she realises just how much trouble she’s really in. His rugged good looks and Irish lilt make her stomach fizz – how is she supposed to concentrate on destroying him, when half the time she’s struggling not to rip the shirt off his back?

Funny, romantic, and dangerously sexy, Undertaking Love does not disappoint! Perfect for fans of Jane Costello and Lucy Diamond.



20140524-145303-53583995.jpg

My Thoughts:
Having read the Knight series by Kat's pen name Kitty French, I was excited to read Undertaking Love.

I love the writing style of Kat French and was excited to read her debut into a new genre.

One thing is for certain, Kat has a gift for creating a male character that will have you swooning instantly and clamouring to get him into saucy scenes!
Gabriel Ryan sounds divine, every word he said was whispered in my head using a soft Irish lilt and I just wanted to keep him talking.

Besides the dreaminess that is Gabriel, there is a wonderful mix of characters within the pages, Emily, Jonny, Dora and Ivan
Sadly for me the only character I didn't really connect with was Marla, maybe I was jealous but something just didn't click.

Kat French has delivered a light hearted read that will have you laughing even though at times it's sad, but the story flows with fluidly and the transition between emotions is worked well.

No comments:

Post a Comment